Prof. Dr. Lucio Isa

Main content

ETH Zurich

Professur f. Grenzflächen

Prof. Dr. Lucio Isa

HCI H 525

Vladimir-Prelog-Weg 1-5/10

8093 Zürich


  • phone +41 44 633 63 76 
  • vcard V-Card (vcf, 1kb)


Prof. Dr. Lucio Isa was born in Milan (Italy) in 1979. In 2004 he completed his university studies in Nuclear Engineering with a Mathematics and Physics specialization at the Milan Polytechnic, obtaining a Master’s degree with honors (100/100 cum laude) with a research project on thermal diffusion of colloidal suspensions with Prof. Roberto Piazza. He then moved on to obtain a PhD in Soft Matter Physics at the University of Edinburgh in 2008 (Prof. Wilson Poon) where he worked on flow and deformation of dense colloidal glasses. His PhD work was awarded in two occasions (Marie Curie Early Stage Researcher 2007 Award and the British Society of Rheology 2008 Vernon Harrison Award for the most outstanding UK PhD rheology thesis in the academic year 2007/2008). After a short postdoctoral spell in Edinburgh he moved to the Materials Department of ETH Zurich at the end of 2008 to work on self-assembled materials in the Laboratory for Surface Science and Technology (Profs. Nicholas D. Spencer and Marcus Textor). During his time at ETH Zurich he was awarded a Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellowship, an SNSF travel grant as visiting scientist to the University of California Santa Barbara (Prof. Todd Squires) and an SNSF Ambizione Fellowship aimed at studying various aspects of micro and nanoparticle self-assembly at liquid interfaces.

Since September 1st 2013 he is heading the Laboratory for Interfaces, Soft matter and Assembly in the Department of Materials at ETH Zurich as SNSF Assistant Professor.
Prof. Isa is a co-founder of Swiss Soft Days, an initiative aimed at creating a national network of scientists working in Soft Matter in Switzerland.He has published more than 60 peer-reviewed articles in international scientific journals to date and he is the 2015 recipient of the Soft Matter Lectureship award.

Page URL:
Mon Jul 24 15:28:53 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich